Travel information Botswana

  • Capital: Gaborone
  • Official languages: Setswana und Englisch
  • Population: 2.1 Mio.
  • Surface: 582,000 kmĀ²

English is the official language and Setswana is the national language. There are other indigenous languages spoken, however, generally the population has a good command of the English language.


Anti-Malaria prophylactics are recommended for the northern parts of the country. It is best to contact your Travel Clinic for the latest recommendations. No vaccinations are required as yet but check for latest info at time of booking. Bilharzia is another ever present threat in African streams and rivers, and the only way of avoiding contact is to stay out of the water. It is not caught by drinking untreated water, and the disease is easily cured today. There are some tsetse flies in certain areas in Northern Botswana, but they are harmless, other than a sometimes-painful bite. There has been no case of sleeping sickness reported in Botswana for about 25 years.


Generally throughout the year casual comfortable clothes are worn, blouses, shirts, shorts or light skirts are best. Some hotels in Gaborone do not permit jeans although they are useful on safari. Jerseys and jackets are necessary for winter mornings and evenings. Dull colors are more suitable on safari, white is not practical. In the southern African Winter winter (April-October), warmer clothing is needed and track suits are very useful for sleeping in on safari. . For the summer months you will need light and airy clothes; sun-hats, sun-glasses, sun-tan lotion and firm shoes are indispensable at any time of the year. Rain gear is normally only needed from September to May.


Botswana's decimal currency is the Pula, in which notes are issued. The coins are called Thebe. Local Banks allow you to exchange all freely convertible currencies and travelers' checks into the local curreny. In Botswana you can generally pay with credit cards (Visa and Mastercard). Most ATMs only accept Visacard! Major hotels have foreign currency facilities and a lot of lodges will accept travelers' checks in South African Rand, Sterling, Euros and US Dollars. Banks are open until two thirty in the afternoon, but close at midday on Wednesdays and at a quarter to eleven on Saturday mornings.

Travel health insurance

We highly recommend the conclusion of a travel health insurance.


Most safari camps and lodges in Botswana are too remote to tap into the country's electricity supply, so they generate their own electricity by means of a generator that runs whilst the guests are out of camp on activities. These generators charge a bank of batteries which provide good lights all night. There are generally no 220v or 110v power points in the camps. In the hotels in the towns electricity is made up of 230/250V AC 50 hz. Most plugs are based on the three-prong system (also used in South Africa and Namibia) and adaptors are usually available at the accommodation and in supermarkets.


Central European Time (MET) +1 hour. During the European Summertime, there is no time difference between Botswana and Central Europe (MET).

Entry requirements

All visitors entering Botswana must hold a passport that is valid for at least six months, except those with United Nations Convention travel documents. Visitors must also have outgoing travel documents and sufficient funds to finance their stay. Valid entry visas for the countries which do require them may be obtained from Botswana's various embassies and high commissions abroad. In countries where Botswana is not represented, visas may be obtained from the British High Commission. Entry visas obtained at border posts are valid for a maximum of 30-90 days. Extensions may be obtained from any immigration office in Botswana. No visitor is allowed more than a 90-day stay in every calendar year, unless permission has been granted in the form of a waiver pending the outcome of a residence permit application. The following countries do not require Visas for Botswana: Commonwealth countries (except Ghana, India, Nigeria, Sri Lanka, Pakistan), Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Netherlands, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Samoa, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland, United States of America, Uruguay. Please check with your consulate for updated information.